Yoga Poses

Below are the main basic poses we practice to help strengthen your muscular system. The weeks class is structured to combine simple and more advanced poses. The teacher provides detailed instructions on each pose. The pre conception of yoga is that you need to be super flexible. Far from it. We use various methods to help all levels of students by using blocks, chairs, blankets, belts and each other. No pose is impossible. We learn to increase our flexibility and strength from week to week, eventually building up the ability to practice some of the more advanced poses.  All the names below are the Indian original names with the more commonly known names in brackets. The level of the pose with regards difficulty is also given.  This may be useful if if you continue your practice at home to remember the pose. we still recommend you attend a class to learn the correct methods of practice.

Adho Mukha Svanasana (Dog head down) level 1
Ardha Chandrasana (Half Moon) (from a good Utthita Trikonasana) level 2
Garudhasana (Eagle) (arms only) level 2
Padahastasana level 1
Padangusthasana level 1
Parighasana level 2
Parivrtla Ardha Chandrasana (Reverse half Moon) level 2
Parivrtta Parsvakonasana level 2
Parivrtta Trikonasana level 2
Parsvottanasana level 1
Prasarita Padottanasana 1 level 1
Sun Salutation
Tadasana (standing) level 2
Urdvha Hastasana level 1
Utkatasana (Chair) level 1
Uttanasana 1 (folded arms-rest) level 1
Uttanasana 2 (full ext) level 2
Utthita Hasta Padangtisthasana 1 (with support) level 2
Utthita Parsvakonasana level 1
Utthita Trikonasana (Triangle) level 1
Virabhadrasana 1 level 2
Virabhadrasana 2 level 1
Virabhadrasana 3 (from a good Virabhadrasana 1) level 2
Vrksasana (Tree) level 1


Baddha Konasana level 2
Dandasana  (Basic Seated pose) level 1
Gomukhasana ( Cow) In Sukhasana (arms only) level 1
Padmasana level 2
Paripurna Navasana (Boat) level 2
Parvatasana in Virasana level 1
Siddhasana level 1
Sukhasana (Simple crossed legs) level 1
Upavistha Konasana level 2
Virasana level 1


Bharadvajasana 1 level 1
Bharadvajasana 2 level 2
Marichyasana 1 (forward) level 2
Marichyasana 1 (twist only) level 1
Paschimottanasana level 2
Supta Baddha Konasana level 2
Supta Padangusthasana level 2
Triangmuikhaikapada Paschimottanasana level 1
Urdhva Prasarita Padasana (90) level 1


Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana level 2
Ardha Matsyendrasana 1 level 2
Ardha Navasana level 2
Janusirsasana level 2
Malasana 1 (prep) level 1
Marichyasana 3 level 2
Parsva Upavistha Konasana level 2


Adho Mukha Vrksasana Level 2
Ekapada Sarvangasana level 2
Halasana level 1
Kamapidasana level 1
Parsva Halasana level 2
Parsvaikapada Sarvangasana level 2
Salamba Sarvangasana (Shoulder Balance) level 1
Savasana (relaxation) level 1
Setubandha (supported) level 2
Sirsasana (Head Balance) level 2
Supta Konasana level 1


Chaturanga Dandasana level 2
Dhanurasana (Bow) level 2
Dwi Pada Viparita Dandasana level 2
Eka Pada Rajakapotasana (Pidgeon) level 2
Supta Virasana level 2
Urdhva Dhanurasana (Upward Bow) level 2
Urdhva Mukha Svanasana (Dog head up) level 2
Ustrasana (Camel) level 2
Viparita Dandasana level 2